top of page

Who will strike first in 2015 national series?

The National Formula Ford series found new stability and growth in 2014 - but most of all offered breathtaking racing all season long. With growing grids and a healthy National Series that has been commended for being "cheaper today than it was two decades ago", another strong field of hungry young drivers will be fighting hard for the 2015 National title. Consolidation is the key this year and a chance for new drivers to take their moment in the sun in a series that has delivered us names like Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander. And Webber. And Whincup. And Davison.. and, and.. In 2015 the series continues to operate two classes: the outright Formula Ford category for the Duratec-powered cars and FF1600 for those with the venerable Kent powerplant. The series continues to offer a chance to be part of the Mazda Road to Indy, with the first-place driver in Formula Ford off to the states in 2016. The winner of FF1600 will claim a F2000 test locally in Australia thanks to Mike Borland’s spectrum outfit. New faces are the dominant story this season with the likes of 2014 Victorian champion Adrian Lazzaro joining the battle this season in his privateer 011 Spectrum. More new faces to the National series this year include Mitch Martin, Jake Spencer, Thomas Maxwell and Luis Leeds to name a few. Returnees expected to challenge the pointy end include Nick Ellen, Christian Morina and Caitlin Wood who all impressed last year. In FF1600, Jimmy Bailey will face a mighty challenge in the form of Leanne Tander, who will undoubtedly be looking further up the grid than merely victory in the Kent class. Last year began at circuits where passing was difficult and therefore the racing was clean but hard. This year it begins with two circuits known for being a slipstreaming paradise – the long straights of Sandown and Phillip Island will offer thrilling battles that will undoubtedly go down to the finish line. Getting through the first two rounds with a good haul of points will be key to getting your ticket booked to the ‘states at the end of the season. All of last year’s top order have moved onwards and upwards this year; Jordan Lloyd has gone to the US, Tom Randle to TRS and James Golding into the V8 Supercar Development Series – so it’s clear that the progression from Formula Ford is as strong as ever. The question for many is who will be the next star to rise to the front? Stay posted this weekend to find out!

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page