Fahey secures Australian FF1600 title while Buchan wins round on debut

Queenslander Dylan Fahey overcame the odds to become the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Champion in the FF1600 class over the weekend. “We came into this weekend, we knew we had an opportunity to take the championship and we sort of were a little off the pace. But we got better and better throughout the weekend and we ended taking it out, so that’s great", said the newly crowned Kent champion. Fahey defended his points buffer by staying consistently ahead of Robert Rowe and Jason Liddell, who eventually finished second and third in the championship respectively. Rowe and Liddell relentlessly gathered points all year long and were rewarded for their efforts. Tim Hamilton had a shocking ru

Hunter McElrea secures the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship

Hunter McElrea has been crowned the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Champion after a nail-biting finale at Sydney Motorsport Park. Heading into the weekend, the title chase had two key contenders: Sonic Motor Racing Services' Hamish Ribarits and Hunter McElrea. Ribarits drew first blood in qualifying, sticking his Mygale on pole ahead of McElrea and BF Racing driver Nathan Herne. Ribarits backed up his qualifying pace in race one, sending a clear message across the garage with a standout win, out dragging Herne to the line by six-thousandths of a second. McElrea managed to finish third, despite struggling for pace. Race two started in dramatic fashion with a safety car intervention, tr

Formula Ford grid set for championship showdown at SMP

This weekend, 22 Formula Ford drivers will fight for the final and decisive round of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship and 2018 Australian FF1600 Championship. Hunter McElrea is currently leading the championship, just 11 points clear of Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Hamish Ribarits. McElrea and Ribarits are expected to fight tooth and nail for the coveted Australian Formula Ford title. The winner of the Championship will receive an entry ticket to the 2018 Mazda Road To Indy Shootout, held at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, near Phoenix AZ, in December. McElrea has already won 12 races this year and is eager to re-write history and place his name in the record of m

SMP National round - entries closing soon

We would like to remind all of our competitors that entries for the upcoming National round at Sydney Motorsport Park will close this Friday, 19thOctober. If you're planning to enter the last National round of the year, you can download the entry form from this link. This race meeting is open to Formula Ford and FF1600 class cars. Pre-90 (historic) racing cars are welcome to participate, provided they comply with the FF1600 regulations. All FFA members are invited to participate and celebrate the end of the 2018 season with our regular National competitors. You will not need to be registered for the National Series to participate in this event. The finale of the 2018 Australian Formu

Mazda Road To Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout Details Announced

Mazda Road to Indy have announced the details of their third annual shootout. This year the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout will be held at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, the primary race track of the Bondurant Racing School. The Arizona-based racing school is set to host the USF2000 shootout on December 8th-9th. This year, 20 young drivers (aged between 14 and 25) from at least 11 countries around the world will take on the challenge aboard Formula Mazda cars powered by Mazda rotary engines on Cooper tires. The prize they are all aiming for is a US$200,000 scholarship from Mazda to compete in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in 2019. The drivers competing w

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Follow Us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

© 2019 by Formula Ford Association Inc.