Formula Ford grid set for championship showdown at SMP

This weekend, 22 Formula Ford drivers will fight for the final and decisive round of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship and 2018 Australian FF1600 Championship. Hunter McElrea is currently leading the championship, just 11 points clear of Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Hamish Ribarits. McElrea and Ribarits are expected to fight tooth and nail for the coveted Australian Formula Ford title. The winner of the Championship will receive an entry ticket to the 2018 Mazda Road To Indy Shootout, held at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, near Phoenix AZ, in December. McElrea has already won 12 races this year and is eager to re-write history and place his name in the record of most wins in a season, currently held by Chaz Mostert with 14 wins in his 2010 campaign. On the other side of the garage, Hamish Ribarits is in a perfect position to snatch the 2018 Australian title in his debut season at a National level. The Mildura-based Mygale driver, who finished third in the Victorian Formula Ford Championship last year, has been a true threat to McElrea over the course of the year, delivering consistent results, with minimal mistakes. The 2018 Australian FF1600 Cha