top of page

Formula Ford confirms 19-car field for season opener

A healthy 19-car grid has been confirmed for this weekend’s opening round of the Australian Formula Ford Series at Sandown Raceway in Melbourne.

The impressive field includes proven Formula Ford front-runners such as Leanne Tander, who has made an off-season switch to Sonic, local hero Adrian Lazzaro, and Ben Reichstein – who will make the trip all the way down from the Northern Territory.

Reichstein isn’t the only driver covering some kilometres to get to Sandown, with Perth-based Fastlane Racing set to field two cars for Homan Ho and Peter Major.

There is plenty of new talent coming into the AFFS for 2016 as well, with the likes of Queensland state series points leader Hunter McElrea, karting star Lucas Filikotzias, and Victorian state series front-runner Jayden Ojeda – among plenty of others – looking to make a statement at National level.

There are three Kent-powered entries as well, with John Connelly, Daniel Holihan (fresh off a class podium at the Bathurst 6 Hour), and Jake Hobbs set to do battle for 1600 honours.

The Sandown weekend will also see the debut of Formula Ford’s new control tyre, the Yokohama A048 to be used in national competition for the first time.

According to Formula Ford Association Chairman John van Leeuwen, the series organisers are incredibly happy with the entries ahead of the Sandown round.

“It’s sensational that we’ve got such a healthy grid for the opening round of our new-look series,” said van Leeuwen.

“What’s great is that we have so many new competitors coming in, which is proof that contemporary national Formula Ford is still considered a valuable part of the motor racing landscape here in Australia. And it’s incredibly rewarding to see the Formula Ford Association’s hard work come to fruition.

“Between some very quick newcomers, and the more established Formula Ford front-runners that have entered for Sandown, it’s all set up for a fantastic weekend – and season – of racing.”

The Sandown round is the first step in the ‘Road to Indy’ for the 2016 Formula Ford competitors, the winner of the AFFS given a USF2000 test in the United States, financial incentives to compete in the series, and the opportunity to participate in the USF2000 scholarship shootout event.

All of the action from Sandown will be televised as part of SBS’s Speedweek program on April 17.

The opening round of the 2016 Australian Formula Ford Series will be proudly supported by Bob Jane T-Marts.

Entry List – Round 1

Formula Ford (Fiesta)

# Driver Team/Sponsor State

2 Max Vidau Mygale SJ10A - Sonic Motor Racing Services/HiTec Oils VIC

6 Paul Zsidy Spectrum 012 - Esteel Australia VIC

7 Hunter McElrea Mygale SJ06A - Eximm/Torua Networks QLD

8 Jordan Boys Mygale SJ11A - Jordan Boys Motorsport NSW

12 Andrew Kahl Spectrum 012 - Synergy Motorsport NSW

13 Homan Ho Stealth S3 - Fastlane Racing WA

14 Peter Major TBC - Fastlane Racing/Shamrock Civil WA

18 Lachlan Gibbons Mygale SJ07 - Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport NSW

31 Jayden Ojeda Spectrum 014 - Raceworks/SMS Diesel/VHT NSW

42 Leanne Tander Mygale SJ10A - Sonic Motor Racing Services VIC

48 Nicholas Carroll Spectrum 011C - Wilson Security/Frontier/Spectrum VIC

85 Ben Reichstein Mygale SJ15 - Reichstein Motorsport NT

90 Lucas Filikotzias Mygale SJ10/05 - Dream Motorsport/Freight and Logistics/Valvoline VIC

95 Aaron Cameron Spectrum 014 - Melbourne Satellites/Spectrum VIC

97 Liam McLellan Mygale SJ13 - JC Dream Motorsport/JC Karts/McLellan Hire VIC

TBC Adrian Lazzaro TBC - TBC VIC

Formula Ford 1600 (Kent)

41 Daniel Holihan Mygale SJ08 - DHR/Anglo Australian Motorsport NSW

94 Jake Hobbs Comtec - Spirit K08 Hobbs Motorsport NSW

99 John Connelly TBC - John Connelly VIC

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page