top of page

Round 3 preview - Tasmania

The 2023 Australian Formula Ford series moves to Tasmania this weekend to be a part of the Ned Whisky Tasmanian SuperSprint at Symmons Plains.

After our first two rounds at Morgan Park and Sydney Motorsport Park the 2023 Australian Formula Ford Series is producing some amazingly close racing and is showcasing the great young Australian talent we have on offer.

Leading the series into round 3 is Team Sonic driver Matt Hillyer who has won 4 of the 6 races run so far this season and also claimed a Tyres More pole position at Sydney Motorsport Park in round 2. Matt leads the series by 21 points to Zak Lobko who has won the other 2 races of the series and claimed the pole position award at Morgan Park.

Currently sitting third in the series is Connor Somers who placed 2nd in the first two races at SMP to boost his points situation after a slow start to the series at Morgan Park. Eddy Beswick and Xavier Kokai filling positions 4 and 5 in the series points table.

The National Formula Ford Series hasn’t raced at Symmons Plains in Tasmania since 2013 when Anton De Pasquale claimed pole position and also was the round winner.

The Australian Formula Ford Series re-joins the Supercars calendar as a support category in Tasmania. The last time the Formula Ford National series was with the Country’s major racing category was in Winton last year. That weekend saw 2007 Formula Ford Champion Tim Blanchard clean sweep the event in a one off return to the category.

This year while none of our past champions will be racing in this Tasmanian Round, there will be a meet and greet between the current Australian Formula Ford drivers and Current Supercar Formula Ford and Supercar champions including

· Shane van Gisbergen,

· Cameron Hill,

· Jack Le Brocq,

· Chaz Mostert,

· Nick Percat,

· David Reynolds,

· Craig Lowndes,

· Tim Blanchard.

Our races can be viewed live on Foxsports and Kayo on Saturday and Sunday only. Here is our schedule

Friday 19/5

· Practice 1 – 11.40am

· Practice 2 – 13.50pm

· Qualifying – 15.30pm


· Race 1 – 8.25am (Live Foxsports and Kayo)

· Race 2 – 12.15pm (Live Foxsports and Kayo)


· Race 3 – 10.45am (Live Foxsports and Kayo)


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page