top of page

2022 AFFS Round 7 Race 2 Results

Round 7 Sydney Motorsport Park – Race 2

Once again Sydney has turned on a magnificent day weather wise with the Sun shining and the temperature at 21 degrees for the start of Race 2 of the weekend.

Valentino Astuti held a 3 point lead over Jimmy Piszcyk before the race and a 31 point lead over Cameron McLeod who was the only driver that could still relegate Valentino to second in the Series.

A great start to Ryder Quinn and Zak Lobko saw the 2 cars head into turn one ahead of Valentino Astuti and Xavier Kokai with Cameron McLeod in 5th.

An incident between Kent drivers Dylan Fahey and Dan Holihan at turn 2 brought out the safety car on the first lap but not before Cameron McLeod was able to pass both Kokai and Astuti between turns 3 and 5.

The restart saw Ryder Quinn once again get away from the field out front, but Cameron McLeod had an overlap before the control line and was penalised for his indiscretion.

With only 2 laps racing after the safety car departed the track Ryder Quinn held off a persistent Cameron McLeod with Zak Lobko in third and Valentino Astuti in fourth, meaning Astuti’s lead in the series is and with only 20 points on offer for the winner, Astuti can lay claim to the being the champion of the 2022 Formula Ford Australia Series.

In the Kent Class it was another lights to flag victory for Mitch Gatenby and his 1600cc engine. Gatenby now has 8 wins from 8 starts this season wrapping up the 2022 Formula Ford Australia Kent Championship on the Saturday.

Round 7 Points after race 2

Duratec Kent 1600

Ryder Quinn 40 Mitch Gatenby 60

Zak Lobko 32 Tim Hamilton 52

Valentino Astuti 28 Jason Liddel 44

Xavier Kokai 23 John Pereira 38

Eddie Beswick 22 Dylan Fahey 36

Formula Ford Series Points after race 2 round 7

Duratec Kent 1600

Valentino Astuti

254 Mitch Gatenby 160

James Piszcyk 237 Mark Zelliner 90

Cameron McLeod 215 Jason Liddel 80

Ryder Quinn 209

Winston Smith 204


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page