top of page

Mouzouris triumphant after Phillip Island finale

Angelo Mouzouris has claimed the 2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship after a nail-biting finale at Phillip Island. The 18-year-old Victorian wrapped up the championship after winning seven out of the 21 races this season. Mouzouris' efforts behind the wheel have delivered Sonic Motor Racing Services their fourth Australian Formula Ford title in a row, cementing their position in Australian Motor Racing history. As a result of his championship glory, Mouzouris will be heading to Queensland Raceway on November 20th to participate in a test day in a current Carrera Cup car, an experience exclusively provided by Porsche Australia. "It's a pretty good feeling, I don't think it's fully sunk in yet, but I'm quite happy. Great year overall and keen to move forward," said newly-crowned champion Angelo Mouzouris. Zac Soutar is this year's runner up and simply dominated the privateer cup for the second consecutive year. Soutar will be given the opportunity to participate in an advanced driver training day at the Norwell Motorplex with Paul Morris, as well as receiving a Varley Red Top battery for winning the 2019 privateer cup. CHE Racing's Tom Sargent rounded out the podium for the 2019 Championship, taking home a helmet kit donated by Freem Racewear. The young New South Welshman was one of the revelations of the season and was the 2019 rookie of the year, after an impressive first half of the championship. Soutar was the driver to beat on Saturday, claiming yet another Freem Pole Position award and winning race one. Tom Sargent was again fighting for the win and ran side by side with Soutar right to the finish line, falling short by just 4 hundredths of a second. Callum Hedge finished third in his Sonic Mygale. It was a quintessential Formula Ford drafting battle, with the top eight separated by a mere two seconds at the flag. Race two on Sunday morning saw the 33-car field navigating their way around a drying track, as showers swept through the seaside circuit earlier in the morning. Mouzouris and Synergy Motorsport's Cody Burcher seemed to thrive in the challenging conditions and put on a show. After a lightening start from P4, Mouzouris managed to grab and maintain the lead, demonstrating his desire to clinch the Championship with a wn, which he executed perfectly. Cody Burcher finished just 7 tenths behind, setting the fastest lap of the race. Tom Sargent finished third, ahead of Callum Hedge and Zac Soutar. The final race of the year was a break-through for young Jay Hanson, the 16-year-old taking his maiden Australian Formula Ford win ahead of Zac Soutar and Cody Donald. Hanson was also awarded the CHI Hard Charger Award for his results during the weekend. Thanks to his consistency, Zac Soutar won the last round of the year, a bittersweet result for the Victorian after falling 18 points shy of the 2019 title. Jay Hanson and Angelo Mouzouris completed the round podium. The 2019 CAMS Victorian Formula Ford Championship was also decided this weekend, with Spectrum privateer Ben D'Alia winning the state championship ahead of rookies Ben Bargwanna and Kyle Gurton. Bargwanna seemed to thrive in the hyper-competitive National field, finishing all three races in the top 10. The Australian Formula Ford Championship will be back stronger than ever in 2020, once again showcasing the abilities of young drivers that are destined to be future motor racing stars.


2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship standings - top 10 1st - Angelo Mouzouris - 295pts 2nd - Zac Soutar - 277pts 3rd - Thomas Sargent - 235pts 4th - Callum Hedge - 230pts 5th - Lachlan Mineeff - 228pts 6th - Cody Burcher - 217pts 7th - Jay Hanson - 209pts 8th - Courtney Prince - 175pts 9th - Cody Donald - 121pts 10th - Harrison Goodman - 110pts

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page