top of page

30+ Formula Fords set for title showdown at Phillip Island

A sizeable field of 33 Formula Fords will be competing at Phillip Island this weekend for the final round of the 2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship. The regular National drivers will be hurried along by the Victorian Formula Ford Championship contenders, who will be sharing the track once again as the two championships align. Angelo Mouzouris is currently in the prime seat for the 2019 National title, leading the Duratec (outright) class, 28 points clear of Zac Soutar. Mouzouris is hoping to bring home the fourth consecutive Australian Formula Ford title for Sonic Motor Racing Services, following Leanne Tander, Max Vidau and Hunter McElrea's successful campaigns in 2016, 2017 and 2018 respectively. Both Mouzouris and Soutar will be jousting on known territory, Phillip Island being a layout that they both know well. New South Wales prodigy Tom Sargent is currently sitting 3rd in the championship standings, after a sizeable shunt at Sandown crippled his title chances. While still a mathematical chance some 56 points behind Mouzouris, Sargent will need to win all 3 races and profit from some major misfortune to clinch the 2019 title for CHE Racing. The FF1600 (Kent) Championship is all but decided with Queenslanders Tim Hamilton and Jarrod Costello separated by a mere 15 points in the championship standings. New South Welshmen John Pereira, Scott Tidyman, Jason Liddell and Joshua Glinn are also making the trip down to the Island, and will be hoping to engage in some clean racing against the Victorian State Series regulars. The battle for the 2019 Victorian Formula Ford Championship is also wide open, with Ben D'Alia leading the standings 61 points clear of Ben Bargwanna. In the Kent class, Brendan Jones is getting ready to celebrate his fifth Victorian title in a row after a dominant season to date. The weekend will also mark the introduction of another young charger by the name of Jordyn Sinni, who will be making his Formula Ford debut this weekend amidst an ultra-competitive National field. Historic Formula Ford regulars Anthony Mann and Richard Davison will also be joining the action in the Kent class, Davison racing his Van Diemen RF95 for the first time, a car that won the 1997 Australian Formula Ford Championship in the heands of Garth Tander. With 33 cars entered, there will be plenty of slipstreaming and exciting racing across the field, so if you're not an AFL fan or missed out on your Grand Final tickets, make sure you come down to Phillip Island to watch history, as the next Australian Formula Ford Champion will be crowned. The title showdown will commence on Friday with an untimed practice day, while Saturday consists of a qualifying session and race one. Our 2019 Championship will conclude on Sunday afternoon with a title presentation, after races two and three are wrapped up. If you can't make it to Phillip Island, you can follow all the latest news from the race track on our social media channels:

Event Schedule Saturday Qualifying - 9.00am (Duratec class); 9.15am (Kent class) Race 1 - 12.30pm Sunday Race 2 - 9.05am Race 3 - 12.25pm

2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship standings - top 5 1st - Angelo Mouzouris - 257pts 2nd - Zac Soutar - 229pts 3rd - Thomas Sargent - 201pts 4th - Lachlan Mineeff - 198pts 5th - Callum Hedge - 196pts 2019 Australian FF1600 Championship standings - top 5 1st - Tim Hamilton - 116pts 2nd - Jarrod Costello - 101pts 3rd - John Pereira - 36pts 4th - Scott Tidyman - 29pts 5th - Josh Glinn - 22pts Complete pointscore here.

2019 Victorian Formula Ford Championship - top 5 1st - Ben D'Alia - 354pts 2nd - Ben Bargwanna - 293pts 3rd - Kyle Gurton - 253pts 4th - Spencer Ackermann - 207pts 5th - Matt Holmes - 169pts 2019 Victorian FF1600 Championship - top 5 1st - Brendan Jones - 356pts 2nd - John Connelly - 292pts 3rd - Peter Fitzgerald - 289pts 4th - Doug Williams - 276pts 5th - Byron Thomas - 177pts Complete pointscore here.

Entry List Duratec class #2 Angelo Mouzouris - Sonic Motor Racing Services #3 Courtney Prince - Sonic Motor Racing Services #4 Jay Hanson - Sonic Motor Racing Services #5 Callum Hedge - Sonic Motor Racing Services #6 Paul Zsidy - Borland Racing Developments #10 Zac Soutar #11 Lachlan Mineeff - CHE Racing #14 Matt Holmes - Junior Racing Developments #19 Spencer Ackermann #32 Timothy Edwards #36 Cody Burcher - Synergy Motorsport #44 Jordyn Sinni #47 Thomas Sargent - CHE Racing #53 Ben Bargwanna #60 Cody Donald #66 Ben D'Alia #77 Kyle Gurton - Sonic Motor Racing Services #78 Andrew Petrou #88 Harrison Goodman - BF Racing #98 Conor Nicholson Kent class #1 Brendan Jones - Borland Racing Developments #7 John Pereira #16 George Thornton - Ellery Motorsport #17 Peter Fitzgerald #22 Doug Williams - Ellery Motorsport #40 Richard Davison - Ellery Motorsport #45 Jarrod Costello #46 James Meaden #48 Scott Tidyman #72 Anthony Mann #80 Jason Liddell #87 Tim Hamilton #94 Joshua Glinn

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page