Australian Formula Ford heads north for Ipswich round

Round two of the 2019 Australian Formula Ford Championship and Australian FF1600 Championship kicks off this Friday at Queensland Raceway, as part of a 3-day event in conjunction with the Queensland Formula Ford Championship. A combined grid of 18 cars will be in action over the weekend, with the highly rated National tour joining forces with the Queensland locals at the "Paperclip". CHE's Tom Sargent will be making his debut at Queensland Raceway, arriving as the championship leader. Sargent's current advantage could be tested by more experienced drivers Callum Hedge and Zac Soutar, who raced at the Ipswich circuit last year. "I haven't been to Queensland [before] and I won't get any testing, so I'll be straight in. CHE have done a little bit there, so hopefully we'll have the car setup [nailed] and we can continue on [the positive start]", said Sargent at the end of round one at Sydney Motorsport Park. The FF1600 Championship is currently led by rookie Jarrod Costello, who showed great form at the opening round aboard his RF01 Van Diemen. Fellow Queenslander Tim Hamilton is hot on his heels, trailing Costello by just a single point in the Championship. The pair will be competing on home soil this weekend, against New South Welshman Scott Tidyman. Our drivers will gain plenty of mileage around the simple, yet demanding, National Circuit this weekend. Qualifying and four races are scheduled for Saturday and Sunday, after a practice day on Friday. To keep up with results, images and videos from Ipswich, keep an eye on our social media accounts over the weekend: Facebook - Formula Ford Australia Instagram - @ffordaus

Weekend Schedule (times are approximate) Friday General practice - 8:30am - 4:00pm Saturday Qualifying - 9:00am Race 1 - 11:30am Race 2 - 2:45pm Sunday Race 3 - 9:30am Race 4 - 1:15pm

Entry List Form