top of page

2019 Australian Formula Ford kicks off this weekend in Sydney

This weekend both the Australian Formula Ford Championship and the Australian FF1600 Championship will kick off at Sydney Motorsport Park, supporting round one of the 2019 NSW Formula Ford Championship. A strong field of 26 cars will compete in Sydney this weekend, with many drivers making their Australian Formula Ford debut. In the Duratec class, Hank Perkins will be yet another member of the Perkins family to compete in Formula Ford, making his debut in the National field with BF Racing. Hank's father, Terry, won the TAA Formula Ford Driver To Europe Series in 1974, three years after his brother Larry. Another well-known surname in Australian motorsport is Bargwanna. Ben Bargwanna, son of 2000 Bathurst 1000 winner Jason, will make his debut in the National Championship this weekend. The Warragul-based youngster will run a full Victorian Formula Ford Series campaign in 2019, while also participating in selected National rounds for the remainder of the year. Karting prodigy Jay Hanson is another on the list of debutants for round one of the Australian Formula Ford Championship. The well-credentialled karting champion has signed up with Sonic Motor Racing Services for an all-out attack on the National title. Hanson impressed many during his debut race weekend at the 2018 Island Magic event last November, winning the race meeting against a raft of established drivers. New South Welshman Lachlan Ward will step up to make his Formula Ford (Duratec) debut with Anglo Motorsport after competing in the FF1600 field at the end of 2018. Ward also made an appearance in a Kent car at the 2019 Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour. As far as outright Duratec contenders go this season, it will be hard to suggest a clear favourite given the depth of talent within the entry list. Keep an eye out for drivers such as Zac Soutar, Liam McLellan, Cody Donald, Tom Sargent and Callum Hedge, all of whom could be challenging for race wins over the weekend. The FF1600 grid will be filled with debutants looking to establish themselves. Queenslander Jarrod Costello is planning a full campaign in the Kent Championship aboard the Van Diemen RF01 that won the series in 2017, previously driven by Mitch Maddren. John Pereira, Shane Nichols, Scott Tidyman and Mitch Gatenby are also competing in the Kent National field for the first time this weekend. Pereira will be making his return to Formula Ford after a temporary sabbatical from the category. The 2019 season will kick off this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, with qualifying and race one scheduled for Saturday and a further two races on Sunday.

Weekend Schedule Saturday Qualifying - 9:20am Race 1 - 12:25pm Sunday Race 2 - 9:20am Race 3 - 12:50pm Entry List Formula Ford class (Duratec) #2 Angelo Mouzouris - Sonic Motor Racing Services #3 Courtney Prince - Sonic Motor Racing Services #4 Jay Hanson - Sonic Motor Racing Services #5 Callum Hedge - Sonic Motor Racing Services #6 Paul Zsidy - Borland Racing Developments #10 Zac Soutar - Team Soutar Motorsport #14 Lachlan Mineeff - CHE Racing Team #17 Lachlan Ward - Anglo Motorsport #23 Hank Perkins - BF Racing #35 Jake Donaldson - Jake Donaldson Racing #36 Cody Burcher - Westend Mazda #40 Daniel Holihan - Anglo Motorsport #47 Thomas Sargent - CHE Racing Team #53 Ben Bargwanna - Bargwanna Motorsport #60 Cody Donald #88 Harrison Goodman - BF Racing #97 Liam McLellan - Borland Racing Developments #98 Conor Nicholson - Nicholson Motorsport FF1600 class (Kent) #32 Mitch Gatenby - Anglo Motorsport #48 Scott Tidyman - SKT Motorsport #51 Shane Nichols - Motorsport Connections #77 John Pereira #80 Jason Liddell - Donate Life #87 Tim Hamilton #94 Joshua Glinn - JGR/Castle Hill Toyota #147 Jarrod Costello - Team Cosbro Racing

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page