Formula Ford grid set for championship showdown at SMP

October 24, 2018


This weekend, 22 Formula Ford drivers will fight for the final and decisive round of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship and 2018 Australian FF1600 Championship.

Hunter McElrea is currently leading the championship, just 11 points clear of Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Hamish Ribarits. McElrea and Ribarits are expected to fight tooth and nail for the coveted Australian Formula Ford title. The winner of the Championship will receive an entry ticket to the 2018 Mazda Road To Indy Shootout, held at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, near Phoenix AZ, in December.

McElrea has already won 12 races this year and is eager to re-write history and place his name in the record of most wins in a season, currently held by Chaz Mostert with 14 wins in his 2010 campaign.

On the other side of the garage, Hamish Ribarits is in a perfect position to snatch the 2018 Australian title in his debut season at a National level. The Mildura-based Mygale driver, who finished third in the Victorian Formula Ford Championship last year, has been a true threat to McElrea over the course of the year, delivering consistent results, with minimal mistakes.

The 2018 Australian FF1600 Championship is still undecided, with four points separating championship leader Dylan Fahey from Tim Hamilton. The pair of Queenslanders are closely followed by New South Welshman Robert Rowe, who is entering the weekend just eight points shy of Hamilton.

This weekend, Robert Rowe and Jason Liddell will feel at home at Sydney Motorsport Park, a circuit that they both know well. Fahey and Hamilton will need to bring their A-Game to keep the FF1600 Championship trophy in Queensland, after Mitch Maddren's win in 2017.

61 points are up for grabs in both championships, so we are expecting some action-packed racing in both classes this weekend.

The on-track action will start this Friday with three practice sessions, followed by qualifying and race one on Saturday and two races on Sunday.

Both Sunday races will be live streamed on the BlendlineTV YouTube channel and Facebook page.


Event Schedule (local time)

FP1 - 9:05am
FP2 - 12:55pm
FP3 - 3:25pm

Qualifying -9:50am
Race 1 - 2:35pm

Race 2 - 11:30am
Race 3 - 3:15pm


Sydney Motorsport Park - Entry list

Formula Ford Class

#2 Hunter McElrea - Sonic Motor Racing Services
#3 Courtney Prince - Sonic Motor Racing Services
#4 Angelo Mouzouris - Sonic Motor Racing Services
#5 Hamish Ribarits - Sonic Motor Racing Services
#6 Paul Zsidy - Borland Racing Developments
#10 Zac Soutar
#12 Bart Horsten - Fastlane Racing
#14 Lachlan Mineeff - CHE Racing Team
#29 Nathan Herne - BF Racing
#36 Cody Burcher - Borland Racing Developments
#40 Dan Holihan - Traxstar Anglo Motorsport
#47 Thomas Sargent - CHE Racing Team
#66 Benjamin D'Alia - Borland Racing Developments
#88 Harrison Goodman - BF Racing
#98 Conor Nicholson

FF1600 Class

#8 Dylan Fahey
#9 Dave Wood
#13 Josh Buchan - Listec Race Cars
#41 Robert Rowe
#80 Jason Liddell
#87 Tim Hamilton
#94 Joshua Glinn


2018 AFFC STANDINGS (Top 10)

Hunter McElrea - 278 pts
Hamish Ribarits - 267 pts
Zac Soutar - 209 pts
Nathan Herne - 186 pts
Liam McLellan - 158 pts
Lachlan Mineeff - 142
Angelo Mouzouris - 127 pts
Cody Donald - 116 pts
Cameron Shields - 108 pts
Bart Horsten - 101 pts



Dylan Fahey - 92 pts
Tim Hamilton - 88 pts
Robert Rowe - 80 pts
Jason Liddell - 70 pts
Jimmy Bailey - 30 pts


2018 AFFC Calendar

Round 1 - Winton Motor Raceway - March 9-11
Round 2 - Queensland Raceway - April 20-22*
Round 3 - Wakefield Park - May 25-27
Round 4 - Sandown Raceway - July 20-22*
Round 5 - The Bend Motorsport Park - August 24-26
Round 6 - Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit - September 28-30
Round 7 - Sydney Motorsport Park - October 26-28*

*rounds of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Championship

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload