top of page


Hunter McElrea leaves Wakefield Park for Round 3 of the Australian Formula Ford Championship undefeated and with a 17 point buffer in the 2018 Championship.

Race 3 was filled with tension and drama, eventually finishing under safety car conditions. McElrea led the race early, ahead of Ribarits and Horsten, while the train behind argued for positions between 4th and 14th.

On the second lap an incident involved Conor Nicholson, whose Spectrum 011 was stopped awkwardly on the side of the track, triggering a Safety car. There were further incidents when the Yellow flags were deployed, with multiple drivers caught out when the leading cars slowed. A drama also unfolded for William Marshall. The leader of the Kent class was off the track at turn 2 and forced to line up at the rear of field for the restart.

When racing resumed, Bart Horsten slipped by Ribarits and had McElrea in his sights but it was only a lap later that the safety car was deployed again.

Liam McLellan was buried deep into the sand trap on the outside of turn 1, after leaving the circuit whilst trying to pass Jake Donaldson. Donaldson took evasive action off track but was able to continue, while McLellan required a recovery.

Given the time constraints, Race 3 was shortened by 4 laps and finished behind the safety car.

McElrea crossed the line first, followed by Fastlane Racing driver Bart Horsten and Sonic Motor Racing Services's Hamish Ribarits Motorsports. All 3 finished in the same order for the overall Round points.

In the Kent class, William Marshall ran out of time to get back into the lead after his excursion before the Safety car period. This allowed Charlie Campbell to take the win, followed by Marshall and Shane Baumer.

This weekend was a breakthrough for Fastlane driver Bart Horsten, who can celebrate his first podium in the National Championship. Horsten has been under the guidance of Brett Lupton and Garth Tander and his results this weekend were impressive.

Round 4 of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship will be held at Sandown Raceway on July 20-22, in conjunction with the Victorian Formula Ford Series.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page