top of page


Tim Hamilton has taken out round one of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Championship at Queensland Raceway, ahead of Dylan Fahey and Robert Rowe. Hamilton was the man to beat in the Kent class, with a pair of wins kicking off his 2018 campaign in style. His nearest rival was Dylan Fahey, another local driver with plenty of Queensland Raceway experience. Fahey started his weekend on a high, claiming pole and the Shell Award on Saturday. With a win in race 3, Fahey showed that the Kent title this year will be hard fought. Throughout the weekend, the pair was followed closely by Jimmy Bailey, who unfortunately suffered a DNF in race three, ruining his chance of a round podium. Robert Rowe was ready to take advantage of any mistakes from the leading group and eventually joined Hamilton and Fahey on the podium thanks to Bailey's DNF. Hamilton was happy with his weekend: "It was actually a rather challenging weekend. The first race in the wet was really anybody’s race. I think myself, Dylan Fahey and Jimmy Bailey could have won it, and I held one where they ended up having spins unfortunately. The second race went well but in the third race we had a few car problems where it was cutting in and out of power, so we ended up second in that race" Tim Hamilton is now leading the Formula Ford 1600 Championship, just 5 points clear of Dylan Fahey. Round 2 of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Championship will be held at Sandown Raceway on July 20-22. Hamilton was already thinking about the next round: "I’m looking forward to Sandown, a track I haven’t been to before and neither has Dylan. I’m looking forward to the challenge". Thanks to our Championship Sponsor, Yokohama Tyres, the winner of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Championship will receive a set of new Yokohama AO48 tyres along with the prestigious Australian title.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page