top of page


The 2018 Australian Formula Ford Series will feature an expanded seven-round calendar and new category management personnel, the Formula Ford Association (FFA) announced today.

One of the highlights of the calendar is a round at South Australia’s brand-new Tailem Bend circuit, while the series will also run two rounds in conjunction with the brand-new Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS) at Winton and Sydney Motorsport Park.

The other four rounds will be held in conjunction with state championship race meetings at Wakefield Park, Sandown, Queensland Raceway and Phillip Island.

While both Formula Ford Duratec and Formula Ford 1600 (Kent) cars will be permitted to enter all rounds, the Formula Ford 1600 Series will again consist of three pointscoring rounds, to be held at Queensland Raceway, Sandown and Sydney Motorsport Park. FFA administrator Phil Marrinon said the introduction of Tailem Bend is exciting news for all competitors. “We are proud to be part of history, racing at the inaugural Supercars round at Tailem Bend.,” Mr Marrinon said. “Thanks to the organisers for giving us the opportunity to showcase Formula Ford, which continues to prove itself as Australia’s most popular open-wheel category.” “We have continued to focus on ensuring that the Formula Ford National Series remains cost effective to keep it accessible to those developing their careers in motorsport, and continuing the large grid sizes that we have been experiencing recently.” Australian Formula Ford Series – 2018 Calendar March 9-11 Winton (AMRS) April 20-22 Queensland Raceway (QLD State)* May 25-27 Wakefield Park (NSW State) July 20-22 Sandown (VIC State)* August 24-26 Tailem Bend (Supercars) September 28-30 Phillip Island (VIC State) October 26-28 SMP (AMRS)* * denotes Formula Ford 1600 round New Management Team for 2018

After four years in the role as Australian Formula Ford Series co-ordinator, Phil Marrinon has stepped down in order to enjoy retirement, along with his own racing exploits. Mr Marrinon will continue as the volunteer FFA Administrator but will no longer have a hands-on role at racing events. “The FFA has taken the national competition to great numbers in the last 4 years, focusing on reduced costs for competitors,” Mr Marrinon said. “The introduction of the Yokohama tyre has been a great contributor to that end. I would like to thank Andrew Sill, John Van Leeuwen and Jeff Senior who were instrumental in establishing the new national series and the success of the championship from the outset. I would also like to thank all the competitors that have turned up to race, making this Australia’s best open wheel racing category.” Replacing Mr Marrinon will be Iccy Harrington, a familiar face for many competitors at national level. A successful Formula Ford racer himself, Mr Harrington has held the position of Driving Standards Observer for the category since 2014 and has worked alongside Phil at the track, so is familiar with the workings of the category. “Phil has been the major force behind the coordination of the National Series and the FFA thank him greatly for the time and effort he has put into it on a volunteer basis,” Mr Harrington said. “The series as we know would not be what it is without Phil’s efforts.” Experienced official Simon McMahon has been appointed as the Driving Standards Observer. Simon comes to the position with vast experience in judicial processes at motorsport events. A new series Technical Director has also been appointed in Scott Black who brings with him solid knowledge of Formula Ford vehicles and their mechanical specifications.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page