The 2017 Australian Formula Ford Champion will be crowned at Phillip Island this weekend, with four drivers in mathematical contention for the title.

Holding a 45-point advantage in the standings is South Australian Max Vidau. The Sonic Motor Racing driver has been a model of consistency this season – he has scored four race wins, five fastest laps, two round wins and a pole position, and has finished every race inside the top five. Vidau can clinch the title with a top-two finish in any of this weekend’s three races and could thus seal the deal in Race 1 on Saturday afternoon. Alternatively, if his closest rival was to score the maximum 61 points from the weekend, a trio of 10th-place finishes would be enough for Vidau to be crowned the champion. “The points situation is a good one for us to be in, but we still need to ensure we finish all the races this weekend,” Vidau said. “It would mean a massive amount for me to win the title, especially looking at all the prominent names in Australian motorsport who have won the Formula Ford championship over the years. “Winning the first two rounds was a highlight and I’ve had some great battles over the course of the season.” Vidau’s closest challenger is 16-year-old Toowoomba driver