top of page

Formula Ford 1600 Champion to Be Crowned at SMP

At least one Australian Formula Ford Series Champion will be crowned at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend, with the event marking the third and final round of the Formula Ford 1600 competition for vehicles powered by Ford Kent motors.

The Kent series is set for a blockbuster finish with just four points separating Tim Hamilton and Mitch Maddren at the top of the standings. Maddren won the opening round at Winton after a remarkable recovery from a crash early in the weekend, and was in fine form in Round 2 at Queensland Raceway, winning the first two races. However, a DNF in the final due to mechanical problems cost him severely, and handed the championship ascendancy to Hamilton. The outright (Duratec Class) title could be decided as well, with Max Vidau enjoying a healthy 52 point advantage over his nearest rival. If the 16-year-old South Australian can extend his lead to 62 points by the end of the weekend, he will wrap up the championship with a round to spare. As well as Round 5 of the Australian Formula Ford Series and Round 3 of the Australian Formula Ford 1600 Series, this weekend’s race meeting also incorporates Round 5 of the NSW Formula Ford Championship. A massive field of 31 Formula Fords will participate in the weekend’s three races, equalling the largest field for the category this year. Did You Know? Sydney Motorsport Park (formerly Eastern Creek) has hosted 17 previous rounds of the Australian Formula Ford Championship, with 17 different round winners. In 2005, the western Sydney circuit hosted two rounds of the series, just a few weeks apart. So far in 2017, the Australian Formula Ford Series has had race winners from four different Australian states (Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia), as well as New Zealand.

Australian Formula Ford Series Round 5 - Entry List

Duratec Class 5. Mygale Hamish Ribarits - Sonic Motor Racing Mygale 6. Paul Zsidy - Borland Racing Developments Spectrum 10. Zac Soutar - Team Soutar Mygale 11. James Burge - Listec Race Cars Listec 14. Lachlan Mineeff - Colin Hill Engineering Mygale 16. Cooper Murray - Mygale Australia Mygale 18. Lachlan Gibbons - Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport Mygale 21. Harri Jones - BF Racing Spectrum 29. Nathan Herne - BF Racing Mygale 31. Jayden Ojeda - Borland Racing Developments Spectrum 32. Courtney Prince - Sonic Motor Racing Mygale 35. Jake Donaldson - Jake Donaldson Racing Spectrum 44. Hunter McElrea - Sonic Motor Racing Mygale 55. Ben Horsten - Fastlane Stealth 57. Jackson Burton - Synergy Motorsport Spectrum 73. Cameron Shields - BF Racing Mygale 74. Max Vidau - Sonic Motor Racing Mygale 85. Ben Reichstein - Borland Racing Developments Spectrum 95. Adrian Lazzaro - Lazzaro Motorsport Spectrum 97. Liam McLellan - Borland Racing Developments Spectrum

Kent Class 3. Kane Coleman - Anglo Motorsport Spirit 4. Robert Rowe - 3 Amigos Mondiale 8. David Holland - Don Holland Racing Swift 9. Josh Jackson - JetCar Promos Spectrum 24. Dave Wood - Wood Racing Van Diemen 41. Keith Brennan - Anglo Motorsport Spirit 53. Mark Lowing - Listec Van Diemen 61. Alan Price - Listec Racing Listec 80. Jason Liddell - 3 Amigos Swift 87. Tim Hamilton - Spectrum 91. Josh Behn - Anglo Motorsport Mygale 92. Mitch Maddren - Autoware Van Diemen

Australian Formula Ford Series – Sydney Motorsport Park Round Winners 1993 – Steven Ellery 1995 – Jason Bright 1996 – Rich Fowler 1997 – Marcos Ambrose 1999 – Stuart McColl 2000 – Nick Agland 2001 – Will Power 2003 – Tony Pugliese 2004 – James Small 2005 (1) – David Sieders 2005 (2) – Shane Price 2007 – Ashley Walsh 2008 – Brad Lowe 2011 – Cameron Waters 2014 – Thomas Randle 2015 – Cameron Hill 2016 – Will Brown

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page