Australian Formula Ford Series Title Fight Goes Down to the Wire

The Australian Formula Ford Series title fight is set to go down to the wire, with four drivers still in contention heading into this weekend’s final round at Phillip Island.

A new Australian Formula Ford Champion will be crowned as part of the popular Island Magic race meeting at Phillip Island this weekend, with Leanne Tander the points leader heading into the final three races of the season.

Tander is on-track to join recently-crowned Australian Rally Champion Molly Taylor as a national series’ first female winner, the Sonic Mygale driver taking a 32-point lead into Island Magic.

There are, however, 61 points still on offer, with Will Brown best-placed to take on Tander from second place. Privateer and AFFS rookie Jordan Boys currently sits third, a further 19 points back. Spectrum young gun Jayden Ojeda is the fourth and final driver in mathematical contention, although will need a lot to go his way from 58 points back.

There are a total of 25 cars entered for Phillip Island, including new FFA Vic Championship and CAMS Vic Series winner Max Vidau, who will step up to the AFFS full-time in 2017. The same goes for Queenslander Harrison Jones who will travel south ahead of a full AFFS campaign next season, while 15-year-old Courtney Prince is another of the local Victorian state runners looking to make an impression on the national field.