top of page

Australian Formula Ford Heads North with Bumper Grid

The Australian Formula Ford Series has attracted a huge 25-car field for this weekend’s third round of the season at Queensland Raceway.

Joining the Shannons Nationals for the second time this season, the battle for one of the most sought-after titles in Australian single-seater racing heads north with the competition set to be hot.

The early title contenders, Jayden Ojeda and Leanne Tander, will continue their battle for top spot in the points having won a round each so far this season.

As it stands, Spectrum driver Ojeda currently leads Mygale driver Tander by just five points.

Third in the standings, and very much still in the title hunt, Jordan Boys (66 points) is also entered for Queensland, along with Will Brown, Adrian Lazzaro, and Lachlan Gibbons – all three currently locked on 60 points, just 33 points shy of the early leader.

The Queensland Raceway entry list includes a bumper field of 11 Kent-powered cars. The likes of points leader Jake Hobbs will take on homegrown talent such as Thomas Corbett, Dylan Fahey and Tony Chapman as they fight it out for the $1,500 Taco of Cash prize.

The “Taco of Cash” initiative is a local Queensland competitor initiative that challenges any southern state driver in the Formula Ford 1600 category to take out the win in all three races over the weekend. If they do, a prize of $1,500 is won.

“This year has been a great year of growth for Formula Ford in Queensland thanks to the work of some very proactive local competitors and we welcome the locals to the series. This round we are seeing a record turnout of Formula Ford 1600 cars, the best since reintroducing the class to the national series in 2014.”, said series coordinator, Phil Marrinon.

Queensland Raceway has always produced very close Formula Ford racing over the years which the healthy grid of locals will ensure remains that way.

“The diversity of our grid has been something we have been striving for in the series and can thankfully say we have achieved. The reduction in competitor costs is a major contributor that has attracted the privateer driver back to national level racing. With a bigger grid comes closer racing and that is what we believe benefits the developing drivers.”, said Marrinon.

Formula Ford will be on track over the weekend with qualifying and three sprint races on the card.



Car No. Driver Sponsor Chassis

5 Aaron Cameron Melbourne Satellites Spectrum

6 Paul Zsidy Borland Racing Developments Spectrum

7 Hunter McElrea Eximm/Torua Networks Mygale

8 Jordan Boys Jordan Boys Motorsport Mygale

12 Andrew Kahl Synergy Motorsport Spectrum

18 Lachlan Gibbons Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport Mygale

20 Ryan Suhle Ryan Suhle Spectrum

21 Harrison Jones Harrison Jones Spectrum

31 Jayden Ojeda Borland Racing Developments Spectrum

42 Leanne Tander Sonic Motor Racing Mygale

95 Adrian Lazzaro Wilson Security Spectrum

96 Ryan Pike Synergy Motorsport Spectrum

99 Will Brown Cars Galore Toowoomba Mygale

32 Mitchell Maddren M Motorsport Van Diemen


Car No. Driver Sponsor Chassis

1 Dylan Fahey Greg Fahey Motorsport Van Diemen

3 James Corbett Spectrum

80 Sam Sewell BF Racing Van Diemen

25 Karla Curtis Karla Curtis Van Diemen

36 Garry Goulding Ultimate Power Steering Vector

67 David Boulten David Boulten Van Diemen

57 Tony Chapman Manager Software Van Diemen

92 Robert Power Robert Power Mygale

93 Thomas Corbett Thomas Corbett Van Diemen

94 Jake Hobbs Hobbs Motorsport Spirit

9 Chris Purvis Purtek Motorsports Spectrum

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square