Formula Ford confirms 19-car field for season opener

March 29, 2016

A healthy 19-car grid has been confirmed for this weekend’s opening round of the Australian Formula Ford Series at Sandown Raceway in Melbourne. 


The impressive field includes proven Formula Ford front-runners such as Leanne Tander, who has made an off-season switch to Sonic, local hero Adrian Lazzaro, and Ben Reichstein – who will make the trip all the way down from the Northern Territory. 


Reichstein isn’t the only driver covering some kilometres to get to Sandown, with Perth-based Fastlane Racing set to field two cars for Homan Ho and Peter Major. 


There is plenty of new talent coming into the AFFS for 2016 as well, with the likes of Queensland state series points leader Hunter McElrea, karting star Lucas Filikotzias, and Victorian state series front-runner Jayden Ojeda – among plenty of others – looking to make a statement at National level. 


There are three Kent-powered entries as well, with John Connelly, Daniel Holihan (fresh off a class podium at the Bathurst 6 Hour), and Jake Hobbs set to do battle for 1600 honours. 


The Sandown weekend will also see the debut of Formula Ford’s new control tyre, the Yokohama A048 to be used in national competition for the first time. 


According to Formula Ford Association Chairman John van Leeuwen, the series organisers are incredibly happy with the entries ahead of the Sandown round. 


“It’s sensational that we’ve got such a healthy grid for the opening round of our new-look series,” said van Leeuwen.


“What’s great is that we have so many new competitors coming in, which is proof that contemporary national Formula Ford is still considered a valuable part of the motor racing landscape here in Australia. And it’s incredibly rewarding to see the Formula Ford Association’s hard work come to fruition. 


“Between some very quick newcomers, and the more established Formula Ford front-runners that have entered for Sandown, it’s all set up for a fantastic weekend – and season – of racing.”


The Sandown round is the first step in the ‘Road to Indy’ for the 2016 Formula Ford competitors, the winner of the AFFS given a USF2000 test in the United States, financial incentives to compete in the series, and the opportunity to participate in the USF2000 scholarship shootout event. 


All of the action from Sandown will be televised as part of SBS’s Speedweek program on April 17.


The opening round of the 2016 Australian Formula Ford Series will be proudly supported by Bob Jane T-Marts.


Entry List  – Round 1


Formula Ford (Fiesta)

#              Driver                                    Team/Sponsor                                                                                   State

2              Max Vidau                               Mygale SJ10A - Sonic Motor Racing Services/HiTec Oils                      VIC

6              Paul Zsidy                              Spectrum 012 - Esteel Australia                                                             VIC

7              Hunter McElrea                      Mygale SJ06A - Eximm/Torua Networks                                                 QLD

8              Jordan Boys                           Mygale SJ11A - Jordan Boys Motorsport                                                NSW

12            Andrew Kahl                           Spectrum 012 - Synergy Motorsport                                                       NSW

13            Homan Ho                              Stealth S3 - Fastlane Racing                                                                  WA

14            Peter Major                             TBC - Fastlane Racing/Shamrock Civil                                                  WA

18            Lachlan Gibbons                    Mygale SJ07 - Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport                                           NSW

31            Jayden Ojeda                         Spectrum 014 - Raceworks/SMS Diesel/VHT                                        NSW

42            Leanne Tander                       Mygale SJ10A - Sonic Motor Racing Services                                       VIC

48            Nicholas Carroll                      Spectrum 011C - Wilson Security/Frontier/Spectrum                             VIC

85            Ben Reichstein                       Mygale SJ15 - Reichstein Motorsport                                                     NT

90            Lucas Filikotzias                     Mygale SJ10/05 - Dream Motorsport/Freight and Logistics/Valvoline     VIC

95            Aaron Cameron                      Spectrum 014 - Melbourne Satellites/Spectrum                                     VIC

97            Liam McLellan                        Mygale SJ13 - JC Dream Motorsport/JC Karts/McLellan Hire                 VIC

TBC         Adrian Lazzaro                       TBC - TBC                                                                                              VIC


Formula Ford 1600 (Kent)

41            Daniel Holihan                        Mygale SJ08 - DHR/Anglo Australian Motorsport                                   NSW       

94            Jake Hobbs                            Comtec - Spirit K08 Hobbs Motorsport                                                   NSW

99            John Connelly                        TBC - John Connelly                                                                              VIC

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload