top of page

Hill seals title with race 1 win

Cameron Hill’s remarkable season has continued by winning the rescheduled Race 1 at Wakefield Park, and sealing the 2015 Australian Formula Ford Series title with two races to go. The win sees Hill’s Championship lead extend out to an unassailable 58 points, sealing the title with tomorrow’s two races still to be run. Though rain threatened throughout, Hill jumped to the lead from the start and was untouchable, winning by a margin of 2.7 seconds. Hill is the first privateer driver to win the Formula Ford title since 2003. Christian Morina was second, ahead of Jayden Ojeda in third. Front-row starter Thomas Maxwell slipped down to fourth, while Mitch Martin, Leanne Tander and Luke King fought an intense three-way battle for fifth, sixth and seventh. Luis Leeds started the race third in the championship and only a point behind Morina, but a ninth place finish saw Morina gain nine points on him. Leeds had a difficult race, running off the road several times. Cameron Walters was the winner in the Kent category, 14 seconds ahead of Luke Ellery. Prior to the race, Walters was fined $500 for ignoring a yellow flag and causing an incident at Turn 1 during the previous aborted race, which was stopped thanks to a Jimmy Bailey crash.

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page