top of page

Walters and Anthony crowned 2013 Champions

The NSW Formula Ford Championship enjoyed an exciting fifth round and final round Sydney Motorsport Park over the weekend, navigating the Northern Circuit configuration for one qualifying session and three races resulting in the wrap of the 2013 NSW Formula Ford 1600 Championship for Cameron Walters and Christopher Anthony in the NSW Formula Ford Championship.

In the NSW Formula Ford 1600 Championship Anglo Australian Motorsports prepared Mygale of Cameron Walters completed the season with two seconds and a third knowing that consistency in the final round was all that was required to wrap up the title. Walters solid performances throughout the year in the Fastway Couriers Mygale gave him a solid lead going into the final round at Sydney Motorsport Park however the minor placings were far from safe.

It was a close tussle between team prepared cars of Kane Coleman in the Anglo Australian Motorsport prepared Spirit and Mark Lowing in the Listec Racing WIL05K and Jarrad Corney in the family prepared Spectrum.

In the end it was Coleman who prevailed in second place by 5 points from Corney in third with Lowing a close fourth three points further back.

Walters championship gave the Anglo Australian Motorsport team a seventh consecutive championship in Formula Ford 1600.

Cameron Walters Fastway Couriers Mygale SJ 2007A

Emma Brown capped off the season with a solid 5th place in the championship just ahead of Rob Rowe in the Mondiale. Jake Hobbs finished in 7th position after a season full of potential in his rookie year and will be one to watch out for in 2014 after some very strong performances.

Jason Liddell finished 8th in the Donate Life Swift followed by Colin Leung and Solon Tsolakki In all 20 drivers scored points in the championship in 18 different chassis.

Close racing between Welch(13) and championship winner Anthony (21)

In the Formula Ford championship it was Chris Anthony in the Anglo Australian Motorsport prepared Mygale who came into the last round with a handy lead however finishing all three races was required to ensure the championship was his. The first two races were frantic with all four formula ford competitors changing places throughout leaving Anthony third in race on and fourth in race two. Anthony dominated the final race of the year and secured the championship from the Synergy Motorsport prepared Spectrums of Jacob Parsons and Trent Grubel. Glen Welch finished a close fourth in the Listec WIL 013. Caitlin Wood did not compete in the last round and finished 5th in the championship after an impressive rookie year.

The last round of the season was indicative of the entire championship with each of the top four driver winning races throughout the ultra-competitive year.

Grahame Burton in the Class winning Hawk DL11

In all ten cars competed in the historic class pointscore in nine different chassis and it was past champion Burton who regained the championship. In the end there was only 24 points covering the top three place getters but a lot more than that in years of age of the drivers. Burton claimed first from Craig Degotardi in second from 16 year old Jimmy Vernon in the Shockwave signs Reynard.

The 2013 championship had some of the best racing you will see, with a multitude of different chassis and divers of all ages competing

Next year the championship will kick off in March at Wakefield Park and following on from the impressive drives of some of the newcomers, 2014 looks likely to be even more competitive.

Bring it on!!

View the final NSW results here.

2014 Formula Ford Championship Calendar:

Round 1 – Wakefield Park Raceway – March 29-30

Round 2 – Sydney Motorsport Park – May 17-18

Round 3 – Sydney Motorsport Park – June 21-22

Round 4 – Sydney Motorsport Park – July 26-27

Round 5 – Wakefield Park Raceway – August 16-17

Round 6 – Wakefield Park Raceway – September 20-21

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page