top of page

Change to National Formula Ford Management

CAMS MEDIA RELEASE - 13 February, 2013

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) announces that CAMS has taken over management of the Australian Formula Ford Championship, effective immediately.

The Australian Formula Ford Championship has been a CAMS sanctioned national motor racing title since 1970 with the series being upgraded in 1993 to Australian Championship status, known officially since then as the Australian Formula Ford Championship.

Until now the Category has been managed by Australian Formula Ford Management Pty Ltd and CAMS would like to acknowledge the tremendous effort and contribution made to the Category over the years, by Margaret Hardy in particular.

An entry level class of single seater racing, the Australian Formula Ford Racing Championship is widely known for being the breeding ground of champions. Drivers such as current Formula One stars Mark Webber and Daniel Ricciardo raced Formula Ford as juniors, as well as local heroes including Jamie Whincup, Steven Richards, David Reynolds and brothers’ Will and Alex Davison. No less than eight World Formula One champions have come from the stables of Formula Ford racing: Nigel Mansell, Ayrton Senna, Emerson Fittipaldi, James Hunt, Jody Scheckter, Michael Schumacher, Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve and Mikka Hakkinen have all competed in the junior racing category.

It is a pathway CAMS wants to keep open, with CAMS' Jodi Zylstra taking on the role of overseeing the Category Management of the Australian Formula Ford Championship for 2013 with Margaret Hardy retained as the Category Administrator to handle all operational elements of the Category. "The late withdrawal of important funding for this series meant that CAMS had to step up on behalf of the sport in general. As the custodian of Australian Motor Sport, we have an obligation to ensure that the most important driver development pathways are retained and nurtured. The coming year will give us an opportunity to assess the series, consider what improvements can be made and start planning for 2014." said CAMS Chief Executive Eugene Arocca.

More than ever, the formative skills learnt at Formula Ford level prepare emerging young drivers for successful careers, both locally and internationally. It is because of this that CAMS wants Formula Ford racing in Australia to remain strong and continue to make the dreams of talented young Australian drivers come true. "Formula Ford has been a wonderful breeding ground for some of the best drivers in the world. We want to maintain that tradition in Australia to ensure that the next Webber or Ricciardo are given every chance of developing their skills" added Arocca.

The 2013 Australian Formula Ford Championship will be contested over seven rounds, all being held on the V8 Supercar calendar;

1. April 5 - 7 Tasmania 360, Symmons Plains Raceway 2. July 5 - 7 Sucrogen Townsville 400, Townsville 3. July 27 - 28 Coates Hire Ipswich 360, Queensland Raceway 4. August 23 - 25 Winton 360, Winton Motor Raceway 5. October 25 - 27 Armor All Gold Coast 600, Surfers Paradise 6. November 23 - 24 Phillip Island 400, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit 7. Nov 29 - Dec 1 Sydney 500, Sydney Olympic Park, Homebush

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page