Bathurst Marquees Update

Due to the very large program at the Liquid Moly Bathurst event, we have been directed by the promotor that ALL competitors must be accommodated in a category marquee. The cost is expected to be around $400 per car. Entries for this event opened last Tuesday, 28th August. If you are planning on competing, please be advised that as at yesterday (30/08) at 12 pm (noon) we had 34 entries confirmed. The entry form for this race meeting can be downloaded at this link. This event is open only to FF1600 and Historic Formula Ford cars (Kent-powered cars only). For any further information about this event, please don't hesitate to contact either John Pymble or Phil Marrinon. John Pymble -

Entries open for Bathurst 2019

The Formula Ford Association, together with the Historic Formula Ford Australia, will offer all Formula Ford 1600 competitors the opportunity to race at Bathurst in 2019. We will be supporting the 2019 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour race to be held from 31st January to 3rd February. This event will be the beginning of a year of celebrations for 50 years of Formula Ford in Australia, one of the longest open-wheel categories still in competition today. Entries for this event are now open, with an early bird discount available for Australian licenced drivers until September 15th, 2018. Click here for the entry form and more details of the event. For further information please contact: John Pymble

McElrea clean sweeps OTR Supersprint

Sonic Motor Racing Services driver Hunter McElrea has dominated both race two and three today to clean sweep round five of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship at The Bend Motorsport Park. McElrea fell behind Spectrum driver Cody Donald off the start in race two, before he passed Donald back at turn six on the opening lap, leading then the field to the chequered flag. Behind him, a train of seven cars swapped positions multiple times during the seven-lap encounter, with Hamish Ribarits and CHE Racing Team rookie Thomas Sargent who took the flag line-a-stern over three seconds behind the race winner. Ribarits was later handed a five-second penalty as a result of contact with BF

Formula Ford Show at The Bend

Racing for round five of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship started this morning at The Bend Motorsport Park with an action-filled race one, in typical Formula Ford style. After a thrilling start, Mygale driver Hunter McElrea showed very clear intentions with a decisive move on Sonic team-mate Hamish Ribarits. The Safety Car was soon deployed after a two-car incident that involved Spectrum driver Paul Zsidy and Samuel Dicker's Stealth on the opening lap. On the restart, Spectrum driver Cody Donald passed Ribarits for second and set his sights on McElrea, while Ribarits battled with BF Racing’s Cameron Shields and privateer Zac Soutar for third. Donald caught and passed McElrea o

Ribarits claims pole at The Bend

Hamish Ribarits has grabbed his second pole position of the season with a 1.59.027 lap to top the timesheets on day one of the fifth round of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship at the OTR Supersprint. The Sonic Motor Racing Services driver was two-hundredths of a second quicker than team-mate Hunter McElrea, who currently holds a 28-point gap over Ribarits in the championship fight. Spectrum driver Cody Donald was only five-tenths behind the Sonic duo, in third position. This was Donald's personal best qualifying performance in the national championship. Ribarits was thrilled after scoring his second pole for the season. “We had a great session. Sonic provided me with an a

24-car field to seize The Bend

Four years after our National Formula Ford round at Mallala Motorsport Park in 2014, next week the Australian Formula Ford Championship is returning to South Australia. A field of 24 Duratec-powered cars will be competing at The Bend Motorsport Park to support the inaugural Supercars event at Australia's newest facility. The first half of our 2018 campaign has given us three different round winners, with Hunter McElrea (two round wins), Hamish Ribarits and Zac Soutar taking honours this year. Soutar was also the first privateer to win a National round after Cameron Hill's supremacy in the 2016 Australian Formula Ford Series. McElrea is currently leading the championship, 29 points clea


At the completion of racing at round four of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship at Sandown, three Duratec engines were removed tr

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Follow Us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

© 2019 by Formula Ford Association Inc.